Previous Education and Progression – Postgraduate

Previous Education

SUSI may need to know your academic history to determine if you are eligible for a grant.


Higher EducationLevelProgression 
Higher EducationPG level 8Higher Diploma- Maximum 4 years funding in total at Postgrad

All previous attendance and attainment at Postgrad level are considered regardless of whether grant was received previously or not
Higher EducationPG Level 9Diploma
Higher EducationLevel 9Masters Degree
Higher EducationLevel 10PHD

You must be increasing your NFQ (National Framework of Qualifications) level to be considered eligible for a grant.

You must be attending an approved course –

  • that leads to a higher level of qualification than any you may already hold,
  • that is at a higher level than any course you may have previously attended,
  • in which you are progressing from one year to the next and not repeating a year (save in exceptional circumstances)

However, you may be considered eligible for funding as a “second chance” student where you –

  • have previously attended but not completed a course,
  • have had a 5-year break in studies since leaving that course, and
    • (The Student Grant Scheme does allow a second chance student attend a course below undergraduate level within the five year break without incurring any penalty under the five year rule)
  • are returning to attend an approved course.

Repeat Period of Study

If you are a student who is repeating a year on the same course, or entering the same year (e.g. Year 1), as previously attended, on a new course, then you are not eligible for a grant,


if you previously undertook a higher education course but left prior to finishing, you may be eligible for a portion of a student grant once you have completed an equivalent period of study.